A Broad Comparison between IGCSE & CBSE

Cambridge Assessment of International Education (CAIE) is recognized worldwide. The department of the University of Cambridge provides educational programs and examinations in over 170 countries. The Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE) is the most known & opted education board in India, for both public and private schools.

CBSE prescribes the books that are published by The National Council of Educational Research and Training (NCERT), an organization set up by the Government of India. The main subjects offered by CBSE up to grade X are English, Second language of choice, Mathematics, Science, and Social Sciences. The students of grades XI and XII can choose subjects of their choice from around 70 available options. Board examinations are conducted at the top of grades X and XII. Questions in the board exam test the knowledge, understanding, and application skills of the learners with only about a 20% weightage for application skills.

The programmes/qualifications offered by the Cambridge Assessment International are divided into four broad categories based on the age of students the programmes are offered to:

Cambridge Primary (5 to 11 years)

Cambridge Lower Secondary (11 to 14 years)

Cambridge Upper Secondary (14 to 16 years)

Cambridge Advanced (16 to 19 years)

Educational institutes and students find Cambridge International AS and A Levels very flexible.

Schools can offer almost any combination of the wide choice of subjects available.

Students have the freedom to select the subjects that are right for them, they can either follow a broad course of study or specialize in a particular field.

Open chat
Let me help!